DS3231 adjustment

I am working on a project for a chiming clock to be installed in a small tower to be constructed in my garden. The chimes and hour strike are tubular bells struck with solenoid operated hammers. The arduino operates these via Darlington transistors. I have used the RTClib and successfully programmed the six note chimes and hour strikes with muting from 10.30pm until 7.30am. There is also a manual mute that overrides the automatic mute. As this will be installed where it will be impractical to connect it to a computer to update the time I want to incorporate push buttons to advance or retard the time. I was thinking of one button to press and hold for maybe a second to advance by one minute and another to retard by a minute. That way I could easily maintain accuracy to within thirty seconds. Has anyone out there done anything similar or could you offer me some guidance on how to do this? I am a relative novice to the world of arduino and can’t fathom out what I need to do so would be grateful for any help.

Which Arduino board are you using ?

Using a suitable board you could could consider remote controlling the clock

I am using a uno at the moment. Could change it though if I had to .

You could interface the Uno with a Bluetooth adapter and control the clock using your mobile 'phone

Personally I would use an ESP32 for the project which gives multiple remote control options depending on the range required

Thank you for the suggestion but my mobile phone is an antiquated Nokia that has served me well for the last twenty years and still does all I require with a fortnightly charge. All I want to do is have two push buttons so I can advance or retard the time by a minute. I was hoping to keep things as simple as possible.

It is good to keep things simple but important to know what is possible. How far from your PC will the clock be ?

They already told you: they want to use buttons to control the clock. What do you have against buttons?