DTMF & Arduino: answer, listen for code, reply.

Hey everyone,

I have been playing with an idea for a long time and every little while I try and find some info on it to try and figure out how to make it happen but cant quite find enough.

I'm really new at arduino, I can sketch the basics but this project needs more than basics.

I want to plug my arduino directly into my phone jack (no pass-thru, just the arduino) I want it to listen for the phone to ring, answer the phone, and listen for a 4-6 digit code to be entered. If the digits entered match the saved code I want it to then send out a single digit signal (9) then pause before hanging up. If the code it received doesnt match just have it hang up.

Maybe later add a prompt message to play upon answering the phone but its not crucial.

From what I've encountered I understand that everyone suggests using the MT8870 to decode however I need more of an all in one transceiver solution.

Hooeyb8ed: I'm really new at arduino, I can sketch the basics but this project needs more than basics.

You got that right!

I do have to mention that for public safety reasons, it is illegal in almost all first-world jurisdictions to connect equipment to the telephone system without proper approval and certification - which would be costly.

Hint: A good old "voice modem" with serial (RS-232) interface will probably do most of the job for you! And there are generally plenty lying around.

Paul__B: ... I do have to mention that for public safety reasons, it is illegal in almost all first-world jurisdictions to connect equipment to the telephone system without proper approval and certification - which would be costly. ...

1+

Work around:

Arduino Yun/Yun shield load Asterisk.