EEPROM Write (Arduino Uno)

Hello,

I am new to Arduino.

I have values from 31 to 4186 that I want to save into EEPROM. I read that when using EEPROM.write(address, value), the value needs to be from 0 to 255 (byte).

Does this mean I am unable to save my data into EEPROM?

Thank you in advance.

Look in the reference at the highByte and lowByte functions for splitting an int into 2 bytes.

An int is stored as two (consecutive) bytes in the memory of a 8-bit micro. The below code is an attempt to demonstrate this

char txBuffer[64];

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(250000);

// a variable
  int x = 4156;
  // a (byte) pointer to the varibale
  byte *ptr = (byte*)&x;

// print where the variable x is located in memory
  sprintf(txBuffer, "address of x = %p", &x);
  Serial.println(txBuffer);
  // print the value of variable x in hexadecimal
  Serial.print("x = 0x"); Serial.println(x, HEX);
  // print the size of the variable x
  Serial.print("sizeof(x) = "); Serial.println(sizeof(x));
  // print the low byte of the variable x
  Serial.print("low byte = 0x"); Serial.println(lowByte(x), HEX);
  // print the high byte of the variable x
  Serial.print("high byte = 0x"); Serial.println(highByte(x), HEX);

// print one of the bytes of the variable x using byte pointer
  sprintf(txBuffer, "content of location %p is 0x%02X", ptr, *ptr);

// print the other byte of the variable x using byte pointer
  ptr++;
  sprintf(txBuffer, "content of location %p is 0x%02X", ptr, *ptr);
}

void loop()
{
}

I used hexadecimal representations to make it easier to see how the int is stored. The output on my system

address of x = 0x8f4
x = 0x103C
sizeof(x) = 2
low byte = 0x3C
high byte = 0x10
content of location 0x8f4 is 0x3C
content of location 0x8f5 is 0x10

From the above I've created a partial 'map':

variable | address | content | comment
---------+---------+---------+--------
 x       | 0x08f4  | 0x3C    | low byte
         | 0x08f5  | 0x10    | high byte