Electric guitar bluetooth dongle

Hello !

I want to connect my electric guitar to my smartphone via Bluetooth. I saw the Jamboree Purpletooth that seems to meet my needs, but I’m a total newbie, and I’m not sure about how to use it or even if it is suitable for what I want to do.

What I thought was to plug the guitar to the mic-in input (via an adaptator) and directly send the signal untouched to my smartphone.

Do you think it is possible ? Or should I think about an Arduino-based solution ?

Thanks a lot ! :)

The output of a guitar is not really audio. It's not the same as a microphone. While some simple circuitry like the Jamboree will get an input into a microphone jack, it won't sound like the guitar sound you hear from the guitar amp.

I suggest you look into solutions that the musicians use. They may seem expensive and complicated but they will be more musical.

I agree. If you connect an electric guitar to a standard stereo system, what you hear is a good representation of what is coming right out of the guitar. And it stinks.

Everything in the path from the pickup to the speaker is designed to modify the sound. And I’m not just effects pedals. From the frequency response of the preamps and the manner in which they clip, the frequency response and clipping of the output amps, to the speaker’s frequency response, the effect of the box it is in, and the frequency and phase dependent nature of it.

OK thanks for your responses !

What if I used an app on my phone to serve as an amp ? Or maybe I could use/make a pre-amp before the board ?

Yes.

A (passive) guitar needs to see a high impedance input. 1 megohm is common. Mic inputs and line inputs are a lot less than that, and therefore crunch the sound. Use a powered preamp/stompbox/pedal between guitar and line in. Leo..