Feasible to produce a simple CPU/GPU temperature monitor?

I'm new to Arduino. I'm currently using one for a university project (building an oscilloscope), but that's a different matter. What I'm wondering is, would it be possible to use an Arduino to show my computer's CPU and GPU temperatures (and possibly other data, such as usage and clock speeds) on an LCD display, using Python code on the computer?

I've found a couple of articles online about monitoring CPU temperatures, but most used a temperature sensor rather than reading data from the computer, and the one I could find that DID read from the computer went far beyond what I'd like to do. I can produce relatively basic Python programs and know very little about programming an Arduino (although I am a quick learner), so I'm wondering if this is possible without using very complicated code.

Furthermore, if it is feasible, how much harder would it be to display it on an OLED display? I wouldn't be able to fit all of the information I would ideally like to display on a 2x16 LCD. Specifically, I was looking at an OLED display currently on Kickstarter (http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/ilsoftltd/colour-oled-breakout-board?ref=category) because it seems like an ideal display, if it wouldn't be too hard to do what I want to do.

Also, if I was looking to pick up a beginner's Arduino kit in the UK, what would you guys recommend? I am considering the kit available on the Arduino store, but at around £100 shipped, it's quite pricey.

Thanks guys.