Find types and capacity requirements of various components.

Hello
Trying to run a 3v motor with an arduino. I have spent some time figuring out the following circuit and what the components do:

My guesses:
Transistor: digital switch. Control amount of current being supplied to the motor from the arduino PWM pin.
Resistor: reduce current to the transistor 'base' pin.
Diode: prevents reverse current whenever motor powers down.

Fairly confident that I have got the hang of it.
But I do not know how to calculate and find the types and values the components should be...

Transistor: PN2222 - a common bipolar type suggestion. Also saw a guy using a MOSFET type. Couldn't make sense when reading about different transistor types .
Resistor: Reduce the input (3v from arduino) to transistor's base pin voltage requirement ?
Diode: No idea. Haven't read about it yet.. I feel a 'simple' /or 'regular' diode put in the proper direction should do the job..

I am fairly new to all this. Any help on figuring out transistor types ? And other numbers ?

Thanks a lot!

Firstly. You will not be able to drive the motor from the 5v pin. It will not supply sufficient current.
You need to drive it from a seperate 5v source. Don't forget the common ground.
You would be a lot better off using a MOSFET.
The diode is use as a fly-back diode, and needs to be able to carry the motor current. It's purpose is to dump the reverse current generated when an inductive load (motor or coil) switches.
Fof

Hi, check this tutorial it explains everything

Despite the fact that the 5V pin can supply 400mA without any problem, in general, I avoid connecting loads on the board. Use an external battery source instead.

So I need a npn transistor. How to figure out the resistor value between PWM pin and base lead of the transistor ?

Taking as an example this DC motor

and assume that the motor spins without any load then its no-load current is 70mA (this is the collector current).