Flexible WS2812 LEB Matrix (32x8) Question/Problem with static Text

Hi guys,

I’m quite new to Arduino and habe spent the last two days researching stuff, testing demos/examples and so on.

I bought this flexible LED Matrix, because I wanted to make a simple digital clock with this. I know there are several, maybe better solutions with those MAX7129 Panels, however now I got this thing and I thought this wouldn’t be difficult at all and that there might already be similar projects out there :slight_smile:

I seems I was wrong or I underestimated the difficulty. I got the time acquirement via ntp implemented, but with displaying content I have some issues. There are 3 problems which I need to address and I’m hopefully looking for your help.

Attached is the video which shows 2 of the 3 problems.

1. I’m getting random pixels lid, which in my opinion shouldn’t light up. A problem with the data line I guess? Too much noise? What should I do about this? Adding a cap oder resistor?

2. The text which is displayed is “Instructables” but as you can see in the video, it is kinda hard to read because it looks like the text ist scrolling also up and down 1 pixel during the left/right scrolling. Not sure why this is. Maybe also caused by noise?

3. The last and most frustrating problem so far is, that I don’t want the text to scroll. I just want to display on a fixes position it and update every second. I haven’t figured out how to do this. Either it is too simple or I’m just a retard :slight_smile:

If I remove the loop which is scrooling the text and enter a fixed position of the cursor, nothing shows up.

Here is the actual code:

// Adafruit_NeoMatrix example for single NeoPixel Shield.
// Scrolls 'Howdy' across the matrix in a portrait (vertical) orientation.

#include <Arduino.h>
#if defined(ESP8266)
#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#elif defined(ESP32)
#include <WiFi.h>
#endif

#include "ESPDateTime.h"
#include <Time.h>
#include <TimeLib.h>
#include <Adafruit_GFX.h>