frequency problem--Arduino

Hello all,

Currently, I am working on a project where I need to measure the AC current in my circuit sensed by a current sensor (ACS712).

I want to calculate the average value of this current and also its frequency but I still do not know how?

I researched a function "pulseIn" which calculates the period of the square wave but I do not know how to integrate it into my program, knowing that my signal is sinusoidal.

Here is the code I realized:

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {

int sensorValue = analogRead(A0);

Serial.println((510 - sensorValue) * 50.00/1023);
delay(250);

}

I am a beginner in programming, so I count on your help, thank you :slight_smile:

What is this anonymous, magic number, supposed to represent?

I want to calculate the average value of this current and also its frequency but I still do not know how?

Voltage has frequency. Current does not.

PaulS:

What? When I run AC voltage across a resistor does the current magically stay constant? Do you want to try that again?

Hi,

Pardon!!!!

AC voltage across a resistor produces an AC current of the same frequency through the resistor.

Tom.. :slight_smile:

PaulS:

What is this anonymous, magic number, supposed to represent?

it represents two conversions:

valeur digital---->analog value.

Voltage value---> current value.

The following video explains very well these two conversions, I think you will understand with a video.

In the video, he uses a ACS712 5A, but I use a ACS712 20A that's why the values are not the same.

If you have more ambiguity, please ask me.

Are either of you two going to use a current sensor to measure frequency? Or are you going to measure the frequency of the voltage?

Current has magnitude!

PaulS:
Are either of you two going to use a current sensor to measure frequency? Or are you going to measure the frequency of the voltage?

Current has magnitude!

AC Current has both magnitude AND frequency, exactly like voltage.