Fully Arduino Quad copter (NO "FLIGHTCONTROLER") Having trouble with the code

Hello everyone I am in the process of making a quad copter out of just an arduino and what I mean by that is I have an MPU I plan to use the brains of it all will be an UNO R3, I am building my own controller. I do not want to use someone else's software like multwii. I wanted to make a bare bones flight controller from the arduino IDE After tons of research I have only found one other person who has done this. I have tried to study his code but there is not much documentation to it and threre is not much comenting well not enough for me to understand. I am fairly new to arduino I would say I've been messing around with it for 3 months and what better way to learn arduino IDE than to take on such a big project...Yeah, I understand I am insane.

Never the less I would really appreciate if you all could look at the code that I have written and give me some feed back. I have been able to tie my drone down and get it to lift off the ground about 7in~18cm off the ground. I have been able to make it roll to the right and pitch forward both were in different variations of code and then I tried to make it so i can pitch and roll to either side and now... Nothing works. Now all I can do is get it to lift off the ground. I am trying to fix this at the moment. This is as close to the code I could get to when I could make the drone Pitch forward. I think I have the code pretty well commented. and I have pictures attached. If you have any questions let me know. As of right now the joysticks are hardwired to the UNO R3. I also have not yet implemented the MPU.

Here is my code

/* The Quad is set up like this *Note: I call them esc's but they represent the motors in my code*
 *     (Front)
 * esc1     esc2
 *    \     /
 *     \   /
 *      [ ]       (Rightside)
 *     /   \
 *    /     \
 * esc3     esc4
 *     (Back)
 */
#include<Servo.h>           //Include The servo library for the functions used