Generating 50 channels of PWM signals usin Arduino Mega 2650

Hello,
I am currently working on a project where I am required to make a device that can generate PWM signal on 50 channels with independent control of frequency and duty cycle on each channel. The frequency range 1Hz to 10,000 Hz.
I am doing it by using a separate signal generator for each channels and Arduino Mega will only control the frequency and and duty cycle by sending a relevant signal to the independent circuitry of each channel. But I still believe Arduino mega can produce 50 PWM signals on the its digital pins through the use of timers. Being a mechanical engineer I haven’t got into such thing before with Arduino.
I thought of 2 variables for each channel to store frequency and duty cycle for each channel and then through some clever programming the timer interrupts will be updated accrodingly.
Sorry if I sound too dumb.
Any suggestion will highly be appreciated.
Thanks.

The ATmega2560 has 2 8-bit timers with 2 output compare channels each, and 4 16-bit timers with 3 output compare channels each. Unfortunately, two of the outputs of these channels go to the same pin, so you can only have 15 separate channels.
You cannot have 50 PWM channels in hardware using an Arduino Mega.

Pieter

Exactly, however, depending on the application, there are several approaches to use SOFTWARE PWM.
This example was written on a 4MHz PIC a few years ago, and doesn’t even use the PIC I/O pins, but rather - a string of TPIC595 shift registers.

Okay As I expected, 50 channels are quite a lot, so given the 15 number of channels, even if I use 3 Arduino mega, it will give 45 channels. But at least I know I can do the same thing 15 channels.

and the shift register TPIC95 is also quite amazing. I am new to signal generation and find it very interesting.