Getting an ATtiny85 to work with an external clock

I'm new to the ATtiny line, and have been trying for some time to get my ATtiny85 to work with an external 20 MHZ crystal. I've been programming it with an Arduino Uno as an ISP, and downloaded a program that I thought I could modify (with the help of this site) to set the fuse values to get it to work with an external 20 MHZ clock, but with no success. I know all my circuitry is right, as I was able to upload the program successfully with the default fuse configurations, I just can't figure out how to modify the sketch to program the fuse values I want, or what those fuse values might be. Now I'm wondering whether I can set the correct fuse values with the program, and if so how, or whether there's an easier way to go about this.

Any input or pointers would help. Thanks!

Here is the program I'm using

The program you have linked is for high-voltage serial programming, not ISP programming.

The two are not the same - ISP is easy in terms of hardware, and can often be done with everything still connected (hence "in-system programming"). HV serial programming is much more awkward, requiring more pins, and applying 12v to reset - but it lets you do things you can't do normally: You can reset the flags even if RST_DISABLE fuse is set, you can fix the fuse bits when you set the clock bits wrong and it's expecting an external oscillator that isn't there, reset the fuse that blocks ISP programming, and you can revive chips that you somehow scribbled over the device identifier on (though the one you linked doesn't have that feature). Like most of the HV serial code on the internet, the one you linked is hard-coded to just reset the fuses to default, so you can get into it with ISP to do whatever.

But the point is, you can't use HV serial programming code to change fuses via ISP.