Getting RPM of a 12 V dc motor w/ its quadrature encoder

Hello All,

I am trying to create a program which can detect the RPM of my motor using its encoder. The motor I have is a 12 V dc motor which has a quadrature encoder on the motor shaft. This is the exact description of my motor from amazon:
"This 2.54" × 1.45" × 1.45" gearmotor is a powerful 12V brushed DC motor with a 29:1 metal gearbox and an integrated quadrature encoder that provides a resolution of 64 counts per revolution of the motor shaft, which corresponds to 1856 counts per revolution of the gearbox’s output shaft. These units have a 0.61"-long, 6 mm-diameter D-shaped output shaft."

Now I am completely new to working with DC motors, so I have a few questions and some sort of a plan to calculate rpm.

First question is there a way to calculate the pulses per revolution of my motor? Would it be 64 / 4(I read somewhere that to get ppr for a quadrature motor you divide the cpr by 4)?

Second question would the following method be appropriate to calculate rpm using an arduino uno or am I just way off:
First in order to calculate revolutions per minute would it be possible for me to calculate how many pulses happen every 1000 milliseconds on the arduino? Because if I can then I could divide the number of pulses by the total number of pulses that happen in one revolution(basically the ppr value) and by 1000 milliseconds to get revolutions per second. For example: Lets say my ppr value is 16, and I know in the last 1000 milliseconds 8 pulses have happened. Then could I just do 8/16 which tells me .5 of a revolution has happened and take .5 and divide it by 1000 milliseconds to calculate revolutions per millisecond(convert to rpm after)?

Here's a simple sketch I wrote for a similar motor, doesn't control the motor, only reads the tach, might help get you started.
EDIT: Whoops, old math.

unsigned long start;
const byte encoderPinA = 2;//A pin -> the interrupt pin 0