Getting Started With Arduino and C

Hey everyone,

I'm fairly new to Arduino, so I'm looking forward to getting started with it. My application of interest is using a Arduino to send the bits of a character serially (i.e. a PWM square wave with the ones and zeros of the charecter represented by pulses). Anyways, I'd like to do this with C (or another general language), since I'll be moving away from Arduino eventually. I know there is a huge reservoir of information floating around the web about coding in C with Arduino, but I'd like to ask the Arduino veterans, what they think the best way to go is? My experience is in MATLAB and C# (with a little assembly).

BTW: I have a UNO board.

Thanks

James

If you program the Arduino you are using C++, if that answers your question.

My application of interest is using a Arduino to send the bits of a character serially (i.e. a PWM square wave with the ones and zeros of the charecter represented by pulses)

Not sure what that means.

Thanks Nick. I realize the Arduino IDE uses C++, but I would like to use native C, so that I can easily switch to a basic AVR chip later on. I can't really explain the other part well yet, as I'm still looking into the methods of transferring data for my application. For now, I'm just looking for the best way to get started with using native C on Arduino. I've found a few sites, but there are so many; this may be faster. So far, I've downloaded AVRDude and GCC, but haven't gone through tutorials with them yet. If Arduino isn't a good starting point for AVR chips, I could try using something else, but I like the fact that Arduino has a bunch of built in peripherals and support.

Er, you can write in C if you want to. Why do you want to? The "basic AVR chip" is programmed with the output from g++. You can supply C or C++ files to it. Some of the Arduino libraries are in C, some in C++.