Guitar amplifier controls project

Hello everyone, this is a first post for me. I’ll start with a little background. I’m new to Arduino but not to programming, and I have experience with vacuum tube based electronics but not with transistors. My planned project incorporates both an Arduino and transistors, so I’m venturing into new ground.

The Arduino is going to serve three functions:

• delay the application of the high voltage power supply via a timer and a relay
  • handle channel switching functions by turning on/off banks of vactrols
  • output an lfo for a tremolo that is switchable between sine, sawtooth and square waveforms using filtered pwm

As of now, the sketch is in good shape I think. I have it breadboarded up with just leds to check that things are turning on/off appropriately. I have some questions though, about integrating into the circuit via transistors and applying the lfo.

The amplifier doesn’t use conventional discreet channels, instead I am switching out gain pots, the complete tone contraol stack, and master volume so that in effect there will be two complete sets of controls for one channel, saving on tubes and associated power demand. The catch is that I’m going to be driving a lot of vactrols, ten per channel, and want to do it with a single pin to preserve as much i/o as possible. I’m thinking driving the vactrols from a seperate power supply via npn transistors. I have enough voltage to do two strings of leds per channel. Can I just connect the transistors in parallel, ie the base to the same output pin on the Arduino?