HELP - Digital Piano 72keys ... what is the best solution for so many inputs?

Hi all,

First i have to say that i am a beginner so please don’t blame in case i ask tupid questions XD

My project is the following:

I would like to build a keyboard with 72 keys/switches and thanks to Arduino and a bluetooth board connect it to an IPAD application .
The first step is to have a drawing of the keyboard on the IPAD and when i push one key or several key at the same time the corresponding keys illuminate on the APP.

My question is what is the best way to connect the 72 inputs to arduino and then how to send the signal via bluetooth…???

Thanks a lot in advance for your help!!!

Matute

digital piano (847 KB)

For the keyboard, look up keyboard matrix. The matrix could be made using 17 digital pins. You can use shift registers or I2C port expanders to cut down on pin count.

Which iPAD app ? Do you have a link ?

• The App doesn't exist yet , but the project is about a music training app with external hardware (keyboard). Each of the 72 keys will play a different tone.
  • Yes a keyboard matrix is good option.. I need investigate how to connect the I2C expander to allow to connect 17pins to Arduino.. Thanks ! (as soon as i receive my arduino i will start testing)

For the key inputs, shift registers - nine of them - you can mount each in the middle of an 8-key group. You could even have PCBs made which mount the key switches themselves in groups of 8 for each shift register, and have connectors on each end to chain them. Since there are 12 keys to each octave, there would be three different forms of the PCB alternating along the keyboard.

But with a keyboard matrix , can i push several keys together? like when you play a chord on a piano and you have 3 keys pushed at the same time....