Help needed with a circuit driving magnets

Hello everyone,
I am an Arduino and electronics newbie, and I’d need your help with a project I am working on.

Look at the attached sketch of the project I am currently working on. It is a circuit that controls 4 different magnets (in the image they are shown as motors, but they should be magnets). As you can notice, the power supply for the magnets (circled in red on the left side) is completely separate from the Arduino which is just taking care of the shift register on the left (74HC595). I want to keep the two circuits separate because of the magnets need something like 32V and between 500ma and 1amp of current. The 4 magnets are driven by two L293D.

Now, the problem I am trying to solve is that even when the Arduino is not giving the command to power the magnets (via the push button), I see the L293D and the magnets drawing some power from the power supply (something like <=200ma), not much, but sufficiently to heat the L293Ds even when they are doing nothing. I’d like to find a way to stop the power supply when not needed (i.e. when the switch button is not pushed).

I have thought to use either a relay or a mosfet transistor to control the power supply to the breadboard, but that’d imply having common ground with the Arduino circuit which I would like to avoid (I tried to have common ground with the Arduino and I fried a couple of shift registers because of that!)

Am I seeing this completely wrong? Or do you have any suggestions?

Thank you in advance for any help!

All the best,

Fab.

It is nearly impossible to interpret that Fritzing diagram. They are a terrible waste of everyone's time.

Please post a hand drawn schematic of the basic circuit (for just one magnet).

You should be able to turn the magnet on and off completely with the L293D, so get that basic one magnet circuit working before putting the rest of it together.