Help with AC relays

Short question: Can I connect a Optocoupler relay rated at AC 250V 10amp driven by an Arduino pro mini with an AC pump rated 230V 2.4amp. Do I need a bigger relay or can I get by with a relay protection diode?

Background: I’m a noob to electronics and just started out with MCUs just last week. Apart from the fun little projects without any practicality I got an idea for something useful: to automatize the filling of my overhead water tank.

So I’m using an ultrasonic sensor to find the water level in the tank which is displayed on an 16x02 LCD. There is an RTC (DS3231). Water is supplied from 6am to 9am. At 7am the relay is driven to turn on the pump. At each 2 minute intervals it checks if there is any waterflow or not (to prevent dry running of pump). If the pump is running dry or the tank is 90% full, the motor is shut down.

I’ve gotten the whole thing to work except for the relay. I mean the LEDs on the relay turn on and all but I’m afraid to connect an AC load. Maybe I’ll start out with a resistive load?

|500x380

Right. Now you illustrate a relay module that is not opto-isolated to start with. If you fancy otherwise give a link to the actual one you are using so we can advise.

A 10 Amp rated relay with a nominal 2 A pump should be OK, given that its starting current is probably substantially more than 2 Amps.

Try it out. Just makes sure that all your control wiring is tightly bundled so as not to leave any open loops to couple interference.

Similarly, keep the mains wiring tight, avoiding any open loops and keep it spaced well away from the logic.

Note the importance of a proper 5 V power supply connected to the "5V" terminal (and ground of course) on the Nano and also all the other 5 V modules. You cannot use the on-board regulator (nor could you as illustrated, on a UNO).