Help with LDRs

I am relatively new to arduino projects, and are wondering what is the problem. When I try to test out the LDR by using the code below, it is outputting as low digits. When there are no lights, it hits 0, but under a large amount of light only makes it rise up it ~25. Why is it hitting a max of ~25 when the max is 1024? There are no error messages when verifying the code, and the ram usage in the arduino is fine.

The LDR has a resistance of 0.2 mΩ
The Resistor has a resistance of 22k Ω

The attachment below has the fritzing schematics of our setup.

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
  // read the input on analog pin 0:
  int sensorValue = analogRead(A1);
  // print out the value you read:
  Serial.println(sensorValue);
  delay(30);        // delay in between reads for stability
}

Show us a good image of ‘your’ circuit wiring.
Posting images:
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=519037.0

You most likely do not have the LDR wired right. According to your diagram the analogRead should be near 1023 when dark and toward 0 when lit.

Edit: As pointed out red for ground. I saw it backwards. My bad.

A photo of your wiring might be helpful.

Interesting wiring colour code: red for ground and blue for 5V?

You need to take the LDR out and measure it’s resistance under the lighting conditions you want .
Then calculate a resistor value to give higher readings from the Arduino .
Google “resistor divider “ and with a 5v supply ; experiment with values until you get a voltage range nearer what you want .

arduin_ologist:
Interesting wiring colour code: red for ground and blue for 5V?

Yes I found this sort of confusion in foreign students when I lectured at a UK university. It is so ingrained in western culture, this red and black / blue thing but I guess it is not universal.