Help with stepper motor to turn 90° exactly every 15 min

Hey there,
I'm a biologist and I'm studying how plants grown in the dark by using infrared-based time lapse imaging. To increase the amount of plants I image, I want to make a rotating platform that turns 90° every 15 min so that I can image 4 plant set-ups/hour. Cruising through the internet brought me to Arduino. I decided to use a stepper motor and steer it via a BIG EASY DRIVER from SPARKFUN with an Arduino
Many thanks to the arduino inventors starting up this platform. Its great. I'm unfortunately a beginner and face some problems with my sketch.

I hooked up a 4 wire stepper motor to a big easy driver (Driverboard from Sparkfun) and connected it to my Adruino Uno.
I did exactly as shown in this youtube tutorial

the sketch I made upt for now is the same as in the video

int Distance = 0; // records the number of steps we have taken

void setup () {
  pinMode(8, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(9, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(8, LOW);
  digitalWrite(9, LOW);

}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite(9, HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(750);
  digitalWrite(9, LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(750);
  Distance = Distance + 1; //record this step to see if we are et the end of our move

if (Distance == 800)
  {
    if (digitalRead(8) == LOW)
    {
      digitalWrite(8 , HIGH);
    }
    else
    {
      digitalWrite(8, LOW);
    }  

Distance = 0;

delay(500);
  }
}

It nicely turns but I'm stuck with the following.
I want it to make a turn of 90°, starting every 15 min (so not with a delay of 15 min). Like this, I can synchronize my rotor with a camera that will take a picture every 15 min.

Does some of you know how to integrate this kind of timing in my sketch. Do I need more hardware to realize this? Or is this set up appropriate?

Besides, does someone knows how to prevent the stepper motor getting hot over time. One experiment takes 4 days so I guess the hardware might get very hot during this time.

Thank you so much for your help.