high frequency divider to visual indicator

Hello!

I want to make a clock signal from another chip, which varies in the order of a few hundred kHz up to a few MHz, divided down to a flashing LED. I can't remember the exact numbers at the moment but I want to divide this clock pulse by exactly 68000(?) or something (can check exact numbers later - wrote it on a bit of paper somwhere!).

What's the best way to do this? Use an interrupt to constantly monitor an input pin and after a count of 32000 turn an LED on and reset the count, then after another 32000 turn it off and reset count again (for 50% duty cycle of the ~10-0.5 Hz output)? Or some other way?

I'm pretty new to this and slightly lost when it comes to doing something continuously with a relatively high frequency clock! I've only ever made code to look at a pin state whenever I fancy checking in it's own time.

Any smaller/simpler way of doing this? The arduino seems a bit overkill, but seems a lot more user friendly to work with. I will probably take the chip out and fit it in the most basic built I can get away with once programmed as part of another circuit.

Piplodocus: Any smaller/simpler way of doing this? The arduino seems a bit overkill, but seems a lot more user friendly to work with. I will probably take the chip out and fit it in the most basic built I can get away with once programmed as part of another circuit.

You could use an ATmega85 chip programmed using arduino IDE. It only has 8 pins (5/6 usable) so will be a lot smaller and less overkill. Or you could use a binary counter if the clock is divided down to the power of 2. What is the upper frequency your interested in? If it's to fast then maybe the ATmega will not be quick enough.

Riva: Or you could use a binary counter if the clock is divided down to the power of 2.