Hooking up to 12 solenoid valves using Transistor/MOFSET as switch

I am relatively new to Arduino, but I have a few projects under my belt. My current project will require control of 12, 12V 540mA solenoids. To achieve this, my current plan is to...

1. Power Arduino via Barrel jack using 12V, 2A power supply that can plug directly into standard wall outlet
  2. Hook up a breadboard using the Vin port on the Arduino (should provide 11.3V due to internal regulations in Arduino?)
  3. Wire up 12 transistors/MOFSETS and to 12 different solenoids (yes I will use a diode to prevent current surge) directly to the 11.3V on the breadboard
  4. Use the Ardiono Digital PWM pins to switch each transistor
  5. Now I can control my different 12 solenoids

This sounds too good/too easy to be true to me... and I am worried that I will not have enough current from the Arduino to power all the solenoids. I believe that current is limited to 1A by the Arduino Vin pin? I currently own a IRF520 MOFSET that I have used in this way to switch LEDs, but nothing as large as a solenoid.

What I would like to know:

1. Will this blow up/burn down the house/Arduino?
    1a) If yes, how would you suggest I power the solenoids? Relay Board?
  2. What transistor/MOFSET will be able to handle this load?
  3. What base resistor value is needed for the transistor/MOFSET?

Show us a good schematic of your proposed circuit.

Give links to components. Posting images:

https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=519037.0

micahrinke:
I am relatively new to Arduino, but I have a few projects under my belt. My current project will require control of 12, 12V 540mA solenoids. To achieve this, my current plan is to...

This calls for a 10 Amp power supply in my opinion.

1. Power Arduino via Barrel jack using 12V, 2A power supply that can plug directly into standard wall outlet
    Might work if nothing is connected to Arduino 5 or 3.3 volt pins.