How do I extend the range of the 315MHz RF Transmitter and Receiver?

Im trying to experiment on wireless data transmission in the Arduino Yun using a pair of 315MHz RF Transmitter and Receiver. But since I'm a beginner, I tried first to test the RF transmitter and receiver to control two motors.

I did a very simple set-up. At the transmitter side:
two dpdt switches -> encoder (HT12E) -> transmitter

At the receiver side:
receiver -> decoder (HT12D) -> motor driver (L293D)

I got the set-up to work successfully. However, I'm limited to about 6 to 12 inches of range only. Beyond this distance, there is no more response or sometimes erratic response from the receiver. I tried to install an antenna on the transmitter but it just did not work. I don't know if i got the antenna connection correct.

On the receiver, there is no label for antenna connection and i could not find documentation on the receiver that could indicate proper connection.

Can anyone please help. I have attached the pictures of the actual setup and transmitter and receiver.

Receiver Back.jpg

Receiver Front.jpg

Was able to find a seller in eBay with my needed information, antenna location and length of wire. Although it was for a transmitter-receiver with 433Mhz, the chip resembles that of the 315Mhz that I have.

here is the link:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/433Mhz-RF-transmitter-and-receiver-kit-Arduino-ARM-WL-MCU-Raspberry-pi-new-/370685120131?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item564e8e0e83

I used a #22 solid wire, 32cm in length. I formed a coil and soldered each to the transmitter and receiver. With these, the range was increased to 5 meters. At distances greater than 5m I get erratic results. I guess i need to add capacitors to my switches to reduce noise and improve transmission/reception.