How fast does an Arduino UNO execute a loop? [solved]

Hi all
I hope I'm in the right section of the forum.
I have tried to understand how fast my Arduino can execute a loop.
In the attached pics the results and the code.
I've tried two codes: one with a 10ms delay function and the other one without it.
I have connected the scope probe to the Arduino pin 4.
In the delayed loop I got 50Hz. I'm a beginner in this field so I thought it should have been something like 100Hz..
In the loop without the delay I got 129kHz... Where does this value comes from? Isn't this value pretty far from 16MHz clock?
It should be 16 millions instructions per second, so do I have to conclude that more than 100 instructions are executed under the hood with my simple loop?
Cheers

code.png

In the delayed loop I got 50Hz. I'm a beginner in this field so I thought it should have been something like 100Hz..

You are delaying 10mS, setting the output LOW, delaying 10mS, setting the output HIGH, for a total cycle time of 20mS, which would be 50Hz.

In the loop without the delay I got 129kHz... Where does this value comes from? Isn't this value pretty far from 16MHz clock?
It should be 16 millions instructions per second, so do I have to conclude that more than 100 instructions are executed under the hood with my simple loop?

There is some unseen code that is executed between loops that checks the Serial port, but most of the time is being spent in digitalWrite(), which can be quite slow. There is also the repetitive interrupt that updates the millis() timer once per millisecond.
If you need more speed you can directly write to the output ports, see this page: Port Manipulation. What is not mentioned on that reference page is an even faster way to toggle an output, which is to write a HIGH to the corresponding bit in the port INPUT register.

Thanks

Oh, yeah, definitely >100 instructions!