How to add strings to an array

Hi,
I need to create an array of strings to hold tag data but i cant quite figure out how to do it (i am relatively new to arduino and C programming).

The code below is what i have done so far (this code reads lines (tag) from a file - if the tag is different it adds it to the array). Any help with this is much appreciated.

Cheers.

void distinctEntries() {
  dataFile = SD.open(lookFor); //open file for read
  tag = String();
  prevTag = String();
  char* tagStrings[] = {};
  int i = 0;  

if (dataFile) {
    while (dataFile.available()) {
      char ch = dataFile.read();

while (ch != '\n') {
        tag += ch;
        ch = dataFile.read();       
      }

tag = tag.substring(9);    //dont need the first 9 characters

if (tag != prevTag) {         //this is also spose to check the other entries in the array but not implemented yet
        strcpy(tagStrings[i],tag);    //or something that actually works
        i++;
      }

prevTag = tag;
      tag = String();   
    }

// close the file:
    dataFile.close();
  } 
  else {
  	// if the file didn't open, print an error:
    Serial.println("error opening file");
  }

}

Well, your array of strings is actually an array of character pointers. Which is fine. The problem is that there actually needs to be some arrays of characters to store the data. This is either done by allocating space dynamically at run time, or by declaring and reserving space statically at compile time.

If all the strings are the same size, or if you know what size they are going to be, or if they're close to the same size, it's usually more straightforward to declare the space at compile time.

#define MAX_TAGS 20

char tagStrings[MAX_TAGS][17];  // Reserve space for 20 tags of max size 16 + null
int tagCount = 0;
  strcpy(tagStrings[tagCount], tag);
  ++tagCount;
  if (tagCount >= MAX_TAGS)
    barf("Too many tags");    // Or something

Normally in C, dynamically allocated space is done with malloc().