how to control dc motor

I have a small dc motor that I want aduino(uno) to control lets say I connect I connect it to the input labeled as 4 and 5(which if it was a LED would mean use digitalWrite(4, HIGH)) what should I do to make it turn the motor on? even if it just means to power it on? I tried to leave it as (digitalWrite(4, HIGH);) but it didnt work btw Im an expert with computer programmes but a noon when it comes to arduino any help would be highly appriciated

Yes you would do this digitalWrite(4, HIGH); but first in setup you do pinMode(4,OUTPUT);

BUT you can't wire up a motor directly to a pin you need some sort of driver. See this link:-

http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Workshop/Motors_1.html

I dont know a lot about drivers isnt there a way to do it without one? bacuse I would imagine a driver is needed to actually interact with the motor but just sending power and withholding power from port 4 and 5 would do the trick how do I do that like code that would mean turn on power for port 4 and 5 has anyone done what I want to do and can send me a driver/a code like a suggested?

I dont know a lot about drivers isnt there a way to do it without one?

No. The arduino pin can only supply 30mA or so, this is way less power than a motor takes, so you need a transistor, FET or relay to switch the power.

power from port 4 and 5

You only need one pin to turn a motor on and off, roping in another port make things worse.

like code that would mean turn on power for port 4 and 5

Just gave it you in the last post.

The driver in this case is nothing to do with software, its hardware (see GM's link) A motor draws too much current to be driven directly from a microcontroller and needs a circuit to feed the motor enough current without damaging the Arduino. Its all in GM's link.