How to get a 5v relay to Work

I have read most of the 5V relay topics I could find. I have come to the conclusion that I need a transistor and (flyback diode?) to grt thr arduino to activate the realy module. Please excuse me I have no electronics background do not understand most schematics past basic wiring . I would be very appreciative if someone could shopme how I modify my current project to use a transitor for my relay switch.

Here is the actual circuit.

I am attaching the led to test the circuit. Eventually I want to be able to hook up 125v light and fan to control remotely.

#include <IRremote.h>

/******************************************
 *Time:2017.12.12
 ******************************************/

int relayPin1 = 4;

//int relayPin2 = 6;
int ledPin = 2;

void setup() 
{
   Serial.begin(9600);

relayPin1, (OUTPUT);
//   relayPin2, (OUTPUT);
} 

void loop() 
{ 

Serial.println("switch Relay 1");

digitalWrite(relayPin1, HIGH); // turn the relay on (HIGH is the voltage level)
 Serial.println(relayPin1);
  delay(2000);              // wait for a second
  digitalWrite(relayPin1, LOW);    // turn the relay off by making the voltage LOW
/*  
  Serial.println("switch relay 2");
  digitalWrite(relayPin2, HIGH);   // turn the relay on (HIGH is the voltage level)
  digitalWrite(relayPin2, LOW);    // turn the relay off by making the voltage LOW
  delay(2000);              // wait for a secon
*/  
} 

Before you go any further, change the LED resistor from 220k to 220 ohms (red red brown).

Does the relay energize/click ?

What is this doing ?
relayPin1, (OUTPUT);

What is this doing ?

Time:2017.12.12

#include <IRremote.h>
const byte relayPin1 = 4;
//int relayPin2 = 6;
const byte ledPin = 2;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode ( relayPin1, OUTPUT);
  //   relayPin2, (OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  Serial.println( "Relay1 : ON ");
  digitalWrite(relayPin1, LOW);    // turn the relay off by making the voltage LOW
  Serial.println("Relay1 : OFF ");
  /*