How to send String to RFID reader and wait for response

Hi All,

I am new to arduino programming. I have to read the response of active RFID ( Tagsense ZR-100) by sending the commands from arduino. The spec says if I send Command string 55020081 to the reader the response from reader should be AA06008101010304.

Description of Host to reader : http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0040/3302/files/ZR-x-Protocol-v3-8_-_Reader_Commands.pdf?1268171267

The reader is correctly detecting tag IDs but its not responding to the command sent. I think the reader is not getting correct commands from the arduino board to respond. I am struck with how to send the string 55020081 to the reader.

For correct operation suggested : 8 bits
• No parity
• 1 stop bit
• Baud rate – 57600 bps
• Flow Control - None

My code below :

char val = 0;

byte initPort = { 0x55, 0x02, 0x00 , 0x81 };

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(57600);
Serial1.begin(57600);
}

void loop()
{
//Serial1.write(initPort,sizeof(initPort));
Serial1.write(initPort,sizeof(initPort));
//Serial.print(" I am here ");
Serial.flush();

if ( Serial1.available() > 0){
//Serial.print("I am here");
val = Serial1.read();
//Serial1.print(i);
Serial.print(val);

}

}

Please read how to use this forum, section 7.

After you write the config byte you expect an immediate response, but serial communication is slower than your processor and Serial1.available() > 0 will not be true, at least for a while. Besides, your Serial1.write() may be discarded because it doesn’t conform to the message format, not sending a at the end of the byte array. Finally, it is obvious that you cannot get the expected response AA06008101010304 by reading a single byte.

Thank you..

But if I put " Serial1.write(initPort,sizeof(initPort)); " in void setup() and try to read the serial1 port then also I am unable to get the response I am expecting from the
RFID reader back.