How to write to serial a byte array with dynamic array?

Hi,

I started programming with esp8266. Everything is okey but I have a problem with serial write.

I want to write to serial port for communicate with microcontroller. I’ll send data like this format:

Total 5 Byte : “Header”[3] + PinNo[1] + Value[1];

I want to send 5 bytes to microcontroller. I’ll use it for extend the esp8266 ports.

Now, there is a problem.

When I assign an int variable to byte array item, Its printing bad character.

But when i assign a hex value directly , its working fine.

CODE :

int lightPin = data[0].toInt(); // 0-255
		int lightValue = data[1].toInt(); // 0-1

byte msg2[5];
		msg2[0] = 'M'; //1.Header Byte
		msg2[1] = 'K'; //2.Header Byte
		msg2[2] = 'B'; //3. Header Byte
		msg2[3] = 0x31; // PinNo
		msg2[4] = 0x32; // Value

Serial.write(msg2, 5);
		Serial.println();

How can i solve this?

Thank u.

2 good.png

int is a signed 16-bit value.

byte is an unsigned 8-bit value.

The hex values in your example are in the range of 0-255.

Serial.write() sends the bits out exactly as-is. Hex value 0x31 is the char '1' which is very different than the byte value 1. Serial.print() converts values into their ascii representation.

i would use lowByte(lightPin);but just for future reference try casting to (byte) rather than (char) also.
char is a signed 8-bit value believe it or not

Perehama:
int is a signed 16-bit value.

byte is an unsigned 8-bit value.

The hex values in your example are in the range of 0-255.

I dont understandt, is a byte value range of 0-255? When I assign a signed 16-bit int to byte , isnt it converting and casting automatically to ranged 0-255?

blh64:
Serial.write() sends the bits out exactly as-is. Hex value 0x31 is the char '1' which is very different than the byte value 1. Serial.print() converts values into their ascii representation.

So do you say , 0x31 is not equal to int 1 ?

Moostapha: