I have an idea... Is it possible?

So, I am new to arduino, and these forums. I have been thinking about an idea for the past year or so, and my wonderful wife got me an arduino kit for Christmas. I don't know if the arduino and it's supporting parts/accessories can do what I am asking. I did some searching on here, and could not find an answer so I figured I would ask here. I am wanting to convert my bicycle into an electronic shifting bike that can do a whole lot more. In know that there are companies that make electronic shifting, but buying isn't as fun as making. So, aside from the parts needed to complete it, I need to know if the arduino is capable of pulling in two inputs for shifting (1 for shifting each direction) to control the dérailleur, 2 inputs that can also effect the derailleur and send info to an ldc to display current bike information.

Its certainly do-able.

Its not the concept thats hard its the doing.
You need to ask a lot of questions.

What are you going to use to operate the actual shift ?
What voltages are needed for each part ?
Can you make some of the parts yourself or do you have companies that can ?
Can you override it and go back to manual ?

I am sure you will come up with lots more yourself and some of them might be no I cant do this or that at which point you need to look for a source that can and is that source going to cost you so much that its not worth it.

Simple concept but a lot of work ahead of you.