I'm new, Can you explain this to me? "counter"

Hello all, first post.

I’m very new to arduino and programming in general. I began reading a book- “Beginning C for Arduino” (by Jack Purdam) .

I have been doing somewhat ok until I got to a certain point, now i feel stuck. Screenshots of the 2 pages are attached (i hope).

basically, when I typed this code, it didn’t do anything. almost seems like IDE didn’t reconize it or I missed a step that the Author maybe assumed i should know.

I tried searching the forum for “counter” and the results seem over my head.

Let me know any more info I can give. I don’t understand the lingo yet, still trying to sort out what functions, statements, operations are… take it easy on me :slight_smile:

Thanks! Paul

Post YOUR code. Also use the code tag.

I'll work on getting that up. It'll be a few mins.

counter in those examples is just a number. Most probably a variable of type int or char.

It is simply incremented at the end of the loop() function, which is called in a endless loop...

The if statement is effectively checking whether the counter variable is even or odd. (% is the modulus operator ), also in C/C++ 0 naturally converts to false, whereas any other number (positive or negative) converts to true.

E.g

0 % 2 == 0 == false
1 % 2 == 1 == true
2 % 2 == 0 == false
3 % 2 == 1 == true
4 % 2 == 0 == false

Personally I'd just check to see if bit zero is set. If its not then the number is even. (counter & 0x01)

Here is an attachment of the sketch

As for the code tag… I don’t know what that means. I’ll look into it.

counter2_15_15.ino (352 Bytes)

pYro_65:
counter in those examples is just a number. Most probably a variable of type int or char.

It is simply incremented at the end of the loop() function, which is called in a endless loop...