Improving write speed + millisecond accuracy?

Hello all,

As a disclaimer, I'm quite new to the arduino and I'm running into a couple of issues with which I'm hoping I could get a bit of assistance.
I'm using an arduino uno r3 with the datalogging shield from Adafruit, which comes with the DS1307 rtc.

I have two sensors hooked up and a separate interrupt for each one, which sets a flag and and then prints the current time on an SD card (with precision to milliseconds). The interrupts are working fine, but I'm encountering two main problems.

The first being write speed onto the SD card. The following is part of my code:

void loop() { 
  if (flag == 1){
    File dataFile = SD.open("datalog.txt", FILE_WRITE); 
    DateTime now = RTC.now();
    dataFile.print("med-");
    dataFile.print(now.year(), DEC);
    dataFile.print('/');
    dataFile.print(now.month(), DEC);
    dataFile.print('/');
    dataFile.print(now.day(), DEC);
    dataFile.print(' ');
    dataFile.print(now.hour(), DEC);
    dataFile.print(':');
    dataFile.print(now.minute(), DEC);
    dataFile.print(now.second(), DEC);
    dataFile.print((millis() % 1000), DEC);
    dataFile.println();   
    flag=0;
    dataFile.close();}}

I believe that it is the opening and closing of dataFile that is slowing me down, as I would like to be able to write to the card as quickly as possible. Is there any workaround for this that would avoid me corrupting datalog.txt?

My second problem is related to millisecond drift. DS1307 does not have millisecond accuracy, so my rough solution was to use millis() and floor divide by 1000. I know that this isn't ideal though. Is there some way that I can sync millis to my rtc so that my value for millisecond will roll over to 0 whenever the second changes?

Thanks.

most RTC's have an pulsed output, which you can connect to an interrupt routine.
if that signal is 32kHz you just count to 32 and then increment your myMillis variable.
When it is 1000 reset it to 0