Installing a Time library

Hi, I am very new to arduino and to programming in general.

I want to program my arduino to know what time it is and potentially display the time on an LCD.

I believe I need to install a time library, but the ones I have found have all given me issues, even to the point of having one called DateTime.h, which I can add through the Sketch>Include Library command, but then I get the 'exit status 1' compiling error.

Can anyone please explain how I can do this? I use a MAC and am having a very difficult time getting any new libraries.

Thank you to anyone who can provide some help!

Start here: Software DateTime Library

That page sends you here: Arduino Time Library

And that page redirects you to this page: Time Library by Michael Margolis

The Time library page linked above references this update: PaulStoffregen/Time

You can use ANY of the libraries listed, but pick one and stick with it. I use the Margolis library, but am exploring the others.

Install libraries according to the instructions on this page: Installing Additional Arduino Libraries

Come back and ask specific questions if you get stuck.

I want to program my arduino to know what time it is

How accurate does the timekeeping need to be ? An Arduino by itself does not make a very good clock over a period.

UKHeliBob: How accurate does the timekeeping need to be ? An Arduino by itself does not make a very good clock over a period.

Hi Bob. I consider this to be the biggest flaw in the physical design of the Arduino board. If the Designers had used a crystal on the 328 chip, it would be a superb clock! I make a lot of clocks, and I either use an ATTiny with a crystal, or an external RTC. RTC sub-boards with the DS3231 are great. I have 3 Chronodots that go for months before being off by more than a second or two, but there are cheaper boards that work just as well. I like 'em because they are round.