Interior car lighting, 3w LEDs (pwr requirements)

First off I'll start off by saying I'm pretty noobish when it comes to electronics. I'm a computer programmer by trade which is what got me interested in arduino in the first place because of the easy to understand coding. I've made guitar pedals and an electronic drum kit and know quite a bit about the components but really building them just following instructions and soldering... which I'm pretty good at.

I have used arduino to do some simple things, most of them directly out of the "playground" on the main page but nothing as complicated as I'm planning with my very basic understanding of electronics.

With that said I think I finally found a project I'd like to try make happen but I need a little guidance if possible.

What I'm trying to do is make controllable interior floor lighting using 3w leds. I want it to turn on and off with the dome light (requires a relay and tapping into the car wiring for the dome light) and I also want a switch to override and turn it on and off independent of the dome lighting. I've also been toying around with the idea of effects, like flickering or such but really those can be added later, just getting it working is my main priority.

Coding is not my issue just so everyone is aware so I need no code... just theory on hooking it up.