iPhone-controlled RC Car without laptops?

Hi all,

For a school project, my friends and I are trying to figure out how to turn the iPhone into a RC car remote controller. Most of the projects I have seen so far route signals through a laptop. We want to do this without the laptops. One se up I have seen is this: http://ouch-ouch-ouch.blogspot.com/2008/09/ipod_18.html where two Xbee modules are attached to the iPhone and the car. My friend has suggested attaching Bluetooth to the car but I've heard iPhone Bluetooth is pretty crappy..

I'm a complete noob when it comes to arduino, xbee, etc... but it seems like an incredibly fun project to undertake. If anyone has any suggestion or feedback, it'd be much appreciated.

This has been done a couple of times, some of these implementations might help get you started http://hackedgadgets.com/2008/10/20/iphone-controlled-rc-car-using-an-arduino/

I would recommend using the OSC messaging protocol to send messges from the iphone to the arduino, as software is available in the app store for OSC, and a library is available for OSC on the arduino (it was on make.com front page the other day) which will make life much simpler

I thought about doing this at some point using a method others have implemented before iphone (via OSC) -> wifi -> wireless etherenet bridge on car -> ethernet shield -> arduino -> car servo's/motors. But then I thought of a cheaper way.

How about buying a remote control car, taking apart the remote control and hooking up the ardunio to that (maybe by replacing the potentiometers from the joysticks with a pwm signal from the arduino/ or replacing the potentiometers with SPI controlled digital potentiometers) then you wouldn't have to add anything to the car itself. You could then still use the iphone by going iphone osc app -> wifi -> wireless router -> ethernet shield -> arduino -> hacked apart RC remote