Is my Arduino broken?

I have been using my arduino for about two months, today one of them (I have two) did not let me upload any sketches anymore. However the execution of the currently uploaded program is still working (sort of). The program is flashing one green led, and lighting a red led when recieving '1' through the Serial, any other turns the red off. The green still blinks, but the red does not react to serial anymore.

Uploading gives:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
Holding shift down while uploading:
usbdev_open() did not find any USB device "usb"

I have probably tried every combination of disconnecting, reseting and rebooting the PC, no difference.
I checked device manager to make sure it had the same COM as selected in "tools", aswell as the correct board.
I unistalled the drivers and tried to reinstall them again. It said it was unable to install.

All this while my other identical arduino is working perfectly.

Is there anything else I can try or is this board a gonner?

If there's any information I've missed, or something was unclear, reply and I'll try to explain it better.

Thanks,
Kalveo

The program is flashing one green led

I think the green led is the power indicator (not controllable by the program). How about the good board, is it flashing the green led also?

What power supply are you using. I assume the USB port from the computer?

The green LED is a separate led than the one on the Arduino board. It's connected to pin 7 via a 330ohm resistor. The Arduino has been powered both by USB (PC) and a DC power supply (6V 600mA). The green ON LED on the board is just lighted up as normal on both boards.

Then, the board is able to run the program, just not able to load another one.
I assume you are not using a separate USB cable for each board (in case the cable could be bad).
Then, it could be the USB on that board bad.
Which arduino boards are you using ?

You are correct, it can run but not load a new program.