Keyboard Output Emulation

Hello Everyone,

So I am new to Arduino, but I think I have an interesting project. I have an UNO, and I would really like that to work with my project.

My project is to type on one computer (into some kind of text box), to output that data to the Uno, and have the Uno send that data on to a PS/2 port on another computer as keyboard input. So, I would physically type on one, and it would also be "typed" into another computer. I am not certain this is possible, but I am really interested in making it work; it is actually for my undergraduate thesis project.

I do think that there are pieces of this already out there, but I can't find anything that has it all put together in this way. I understand that I would need more circuitry to get from the Uno to the PS/2 port, but I am not sure what all would be required. I have also seen the Keyboard sketches, but I don't know how to make them get their input from software on my computer (PC, Windows 7, no PS/2 or serial).

Thanks in advanced for any help. I am actually expecting to hear that I am crazy for even thinking this up.

Googling "arduino ps/2" seems to give quite a few hits, there should be some ideas there for you.

I see that there are a lot of resources, but I am having trouble finding exactly what I need. I haven't been able to find Anything detailing how to get keystrokes from a computer. (It is a laptop, and the keystrokes are generated by another program, so I can't use a physical keyboard to generate the keystrokes).

I was thinking that maybe I could write an applet in Java (which I am the most comfortable with) that would be typed into, and then send those characters to the Uno, which would send the keystrokes through to the second computer (which has to see the Uno as a normal PS/2 or Usb keyboard). I don't know if this is possible though, and I have never seen anything in the Java libraries that sends data to a serial port.