Laser communication with Arduino Uno

I'm actually quite new with usage of Arduino so forgive me for asking this.I'm currently trying to create a simple FSO(laser) connection between two PCs using two Arduino Uno and Processing software.The main goal for the project is to be able to send and receive text or file from one Arduino to the other.I've tried some of the codings I could find however I've still no luck in actually achieving a successful transmission.The laser diode I'm currently using is KY-008 laser module and I've tested using a photoresistor and an SKU 198519 photodiode to sense/receive the light from the laser diode.Perhaps my choice of photodiode was wrong or I'm lacking some of the components required? Therefore,I would like to ask for some guidance on my current project.The coding I'm using is based on the one posted on this page https://stab-iitb.org/wiki/1RE30_DATA_TRANSMISSION_USING_LASER.

Your link appeard duff.

Post your circuit diagram and code

OK i found it.

Circuit diagram shows a 2 terminal diode.
Picture shows a 3 terminal laser diode.

Diagram shows +5V (continuous supply), no modulation !

I have seen better instructables than this.

For modulations,I've read that the standard 38kHz or Manchester encoding would work but I'm not really familiar with them.I've also read that Arduino itself can modulate the pulse of the laser diode with proper coding.Do you have any recommendations on hardwares or codings that I could or should use to achieve the transmission?

I would suggest you start with ir remote circuits.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ir+remote+circuits&rlz=1C1CHWL_enGB674GB674&espv=2&biw=1600&bih=799&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi3h5zihpPMAhVEuhQKHaD9D9IQsAQIMA

These use ir leds and recievers which are easier to use than a laser diode.

A proper ir reciever is better as the diode sensor in that example is clear and will pick up allsorts of light (noise).

Driving a laser diode correctly can also be tricky.