LED on while midi note is played

hey folks. i have an urgent question:

i'm quite new to arduino and i'm on a project that involves midi. i got all the midi hooked up and it works in terms of clock and receiving signals and stuff.

now can anybody help me out on how to get an LED to light up only as long as a midi note (let's say 0x39 for an A4) is held? the 'note on' byte seems to be 144, the 'note off' byte is 128 but i just can't work it out.

i'd be gracious for any help. thanks, benni the code:

#define LED 4
#define STATUSLED 5
byte midi_start = 0xfa;
byte midi_stop = 0xfc;
byte midi_clock = 0xf8;
byte midi_continue = 0xfb;
byte midi_A4 = 0x39;
byte data;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(31250); 
pinMode(LED,OUTPUT);
pinMode(STATUSLED,OUTPUT);
} 

void loop() {
if(Serial.available() > 0) {
data = Serial.read();

if(data == midi_start) {
digitalWrite(STATUSLED,HIGH);
}

else if(data == midi_continue) {
  digitalWrite(STATUSLED,HIGH);
}

else if (data == midi_A4){
play();
}

else if(data == midi_stop) {
  digitalWrite (STATUSLED,LOW);
}
}
}

void play() {
digitalWrite (LED, HIGH);
}

Look at my code here:-
http://www.thebox.myzen.co.uk/Hardware/Glockenspiel.html

Simply do a digital write low on the note on and digital write high on the note off.

i already checked your code :slight_smile: … i’m just to much of a newbie to understand it…

i got it to work, that the led turns on when ‘note on’ is received and turns off again when ‘note off’ is received, but now i’m stuck, because it does that on all notes and not only on the A4 or what ever… can you help me out? here’s basically what i did:

if (data == midi_noteon){
noteon();
}

else if (data == midi_noteoff){
noteoff();
}

void noteon() {
if (data == midi_A4) {              // << this doesnt work :(
digitalWrite (SEQ, HIGH);
digitalWrite (RESET, HIGH);
  }
else {
  digitalWrite (SEQ, LOW);
digitalWrite (RESET, LOW);
}
}

void noteoff() {
digitalWrite (SEQ, LOW);
digitalWrite (RESET, LOW);
}