Little help here please

I have the arduino uno and i want to use a pushbutton to turn on a LED then turn it off so 1 push turns it on 2 push turns it off any idea how i might do that and also i am going to be using 4 pushbuttons. Thanks

you could use something to count the push button presses.

eg

int buttonCount = 0;

if (button == HIGH) // if its pressed
{
if(buttonCount == 0)
{
turn on
buttonCount++;
}
if(buttonCount == 1)
{
turn off
buttonCount = 0;
}
}

thanks

sorry it does not work not sure whats wrong i am kinda new at this

"...it does not work..." is not helpful.

We want to see your code, we want to see any error messages, we want to know your wiring, we want to know what you intended, and we want to know what actually happens. Most of all, we want you to read the sticky topics at the top of the forum.

Code and error messages should be pasted into your post using the "#" button and Edit | Paste (or ctrl-v).

As it is, all I can do is guess that your error is in line 42. My crystal ball told me that. :slight_smile:

Thanks!

The button needs to be debounced --- look in the playground section of this site.

Mark

holmes4:
The button needs to be debounced --- look in the playground section of this site.

Mark

Hey thanks didn't even know that it existed until i updated my software

what about a servo i want to do it the same way (pushed once servo moves from 0 to 180 second push it moves from 180 to 0) the debounced works just no sure how to add a servo. by the way this is for a Iron Man helmet. Thanks

I wager that the servo example in the IDE gives you enough to go on.

Instead of digitalWrite(LED,HIGH) use MyServo.write(180), and MyServo.write(0) at the opposite. Copy and paste the appropiate #include and MyServo.attach() and you're done.

ok i will give it a try