Load Cell, INA128, Uno : Counting coins by weight

Good Evening,

I have been using this tutorial:

http://sciencestuff.xperiment.mobi/2012/04/19/measuring-weight-via-usb-with-electronic-kitchen-scales-and-the-arduino/

to use a load cell from kitchen scales and measure the analogue output reading when I increase the pressure to the load cell. I am counting coins by weight.

I have wired it up exactly as it says and installed the firmata software.

However, the readings I get from Analog5 fluctuate between 18 and 19 even without any pressure applied. I have looked at similar problems on the forum and I am just getting myself confused. (I am an absolute novice at this...op amp theory is something I am still getting my head around).

From what I am gathering, Rg should be less than 10k ohms due to the gain formula G=1+{50kOhms / Rg]. Perhaps I need a higher gain by decreasing the resistance over pins 1 and 8 of the Amp?

What would be a reasonable resistance then?
Am I missing something basic from the tutorial?
Could my soldering be a cause of the problem?

here is the data sheet from texas instruments: www.ti.com.cn/cn/lit/ds/symlink/ina128.pdf

Ultimately I want to plot the data on a graph which correlates voltage over the number of coins, but that's a few steps ahead for now.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

James

Hi, did the load cell have a measuring plate that fitted on top of the cell, you have what I think is a zero offset.
Do you get changing readings whent you apply mass to the assembly?
You can do the offset correction externally with a potentiometer or with the sketch.

[soapbox] Sorry but projects like the one you have mentioned worries me when the writer cannot supply a circuit diagram, but connect a to b, c to d, must be a designer from IKEA.[/soapbox]

Tom..... :slight_smile:

Hey Tom..

When I put pressure on the load cell there is no change in the reading from A5.

Yes, I realise that I have been using a terrible tutorial :sweat_smile: