Looking for a rotary encoder

Hello world,
I'm an engineering student, and I'm currently thinking about how to build my 3D printer and so, I need motors to power it. I plan to use DC motors (As in this article : Stepper Motor Emulator (Part 1) - Circuit Cellar), which are said to be less prone to errors, and above all cheap (Can even be taken from old devices). So, I need a rotary encoder to correct the motor position.
Here comes my problem. I need a separate encoder, firstly because I can't find a motor/encoder couple that suits me (Or too expensive), and secondly because the motor will be geared down, so I would prefer to have the position of the output shaft without having to recalculate the ratios every time.
I have been looking for something like this:
re
In which I can just plug my shaft, but I couldn't found any ! Maybe wrong keywords (I'm not an english speaker) ? I don't know, but if someone could give me a link to a good encoder matching my needs, and especially not too expensive, I would be really gratefull...
Thank you for reading me :slight_smile:

the printers, laser or inkjet, have few such encoders motors.

Hello,
Whow, it's probably the fastest response I have ever seen on a forum, so, thank you
I knew it, but there are not printers to dismantle on every street corner :sweat_smile:
I was also thinking that with something commercial I could choose the precision (On the site they speak of 88 PPR), and that I would have manufacturer data on how to connect it to the arduino... No? Then suddenly the sensor will be on the primary shaft, not the output shaft

take DC motor what you has. in 1$ shop buy an optical mouse. take his sensor and connect to Ardu. let it scrolling on some surface and you will become precision of 6000-12000 DPI.