loop within switch case statement while continuing to read input

Hello,

I'm working towards code that reads multiple inputs and then changes the sequence in which 5 LEDs are lit up. Once a light sequence is initiated, I'd like for it to loop while also continuing to monitor for new input. I'm starting from the basics here, but would eventually like to use an IR reader, microphone and switches as the inputs to trigger sequences for around 100 LEDs.

My problem is that I'm not sure how to continue to read the sensor after a case is true. Using goto locks me into a loop but deleting it results in the input being read continuously but only running each case once.

As a noob, I'd also love any input if there is a better statement to use for this project instead of using switchcase.

Thanks in advance!!

int ledPins[] = { 
  5, 6, 9, 10, 11};      // an array of pin numbers to which LEDs are attached
int pinCount = 5;        // the number of pins (i.e. the length of the array)
// LINEAR ARPEGGIO
int timer = 100;         // length that bulb stays on
int incrementArpeggio = 60;      // fade increment / speed
int timerDelay = 2;      // time between bulbs
// RANDOM
int incrementRandom = 100;

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication:
  Serial.begin(9600); 
  for(int thisPin = 0; thisPin < pinCount; thisPin++){
    pinMode(ledPins[thisPin], OUTPUT);
  }
}

void loop () {
  // SENSOR READINGS
  if (Serial.available() > 0) {
    int trigger = Serial.read();

// TRIGGER SERIAL
    switch (trigger) {
    case 'a':
      linearArpeggio:
      // light array of pins going from 1-5
      { for (int thisPin = 0; thisPin < pinCount; thisPin++){
        // fade in
        for (int brightness = 0; brightness <= 255; brightness += incrementArpeggio){
          analogWrite(ledPins[thisPin], brightness);
          delay(timer);
        }
        // fade out
        for (int brightness = 255; brightness >= 0; brightness -= incrementArpeggio){
          delay(timerDelay);