Low Power 12V LED Controller

Hi there,
This is my first post--i'm new to circuit design and the forum. I'm working on a project for a battery-powered 12V LED controller that allows users to dim and change the color of an RGB LED. I'd like the entire circuit to have a hardware power switch that kills power to both the LEDs and the Arduino controller. The wiring running to the switches is to thin to carry the full load of the circuit, so i'm using a P-Channel Mosfet as the power switch. I'm new to this and don't know if it will work in the current setup. Is there anyone here who'd be willing to take a look at my attached schematic and let me know if they see any errors? Thanks a bunch!

The LED strip referred to as common Cathode is drawn as common Anode.

The LED mosfet gates do not need 10k resistors to the output pins, 100 ohm would suffice. However, run the existing 10k to ground from the gate to make sure gate does not float.

Pull-up resistors can be quite simply programmed in with the code doing away with the pull down resistors shown.
There is no requirement to show the push button double pole arrangement in your drawings even if that is the basic structure of the tactile switch you intend to use.

Don't forget to use some form of switch debounce in your code.

Top marks for NOT using fritzing and for basic schematic layout.....not bad for first go :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

bluejets:
The LED strip referred to as common Cathode is drawn as common Anode.

The LED mosfet gates do not need 10k resistors to the output pins, 100 ohm would suffice. However, run the existing 10k to ground from the gate to make sure gate does not float.

Pull-up resistors can be quite simply programmed in with the code doing away with the pull down resistors shown.
There is no requirement to show the push button double pole arrangement in your drawings even if that is the basic structure of the tactile switch you intend to use.