measuring current and power needed

Hi guys,

I am new in arduino and currently I am trying to use multimeter and how to measure the power needed by the arduino

My simple circuit on the breadboard with arduino Uno R3 is that two 10kohm resistor in series connect to 5V pin and ground pin.

Using my multimeter I measured that one of the 10k ohm resistor needs 2.5V, thus Current = 2.5V / 10k = 0.25mA right?

I am going to use my Xiaomi power bank (10400mAh / 3.6V ).So it is correct that 10400mA / 0.25mA = 41600 hours , that means can use for 1733 days?

Thanks in advance for answering my doubt ::slight_smile: ::slight_smile:

1. Yes
  2. ?
    How do you plan to connect your power bank? 3.6V is not 5V. If 3.6V is applied to 2x10kOhm resistors the voltage on 10k resistor will be 1.8V and the current will be 0.18mA...

put 100 ohm in series with your uno supply line and measure the voltage drop across the 100 ohms.
The current drawn will then be measured as V100/100 amps

This will show what the uno requires

Your 10000 mAh battery pack will self discharge within 1 year so irrespective of what the Uno requires do not expect several years of continuous use.

Apart from that manufacturers claims of capacity are wildly inaccurate

Why not use your multimeter directly to measure the current - if you haven't got a multimeter
with current ranges you don't have to spend much money to get one and they are very useful.

I'd be a tad sceptical of the capacity of any power bank, some companies just lie about the capacity,
and capacity drops markedly with use for any realistic battery chemistry, its a fact of life.

If your power bank is boost converting to 5V, the capacity in Ah will drop since energy cannot be
created from nothing - an output current of 100mA will be pullling more like 150mA from the
3.6V cell.

Budvar10:

1. Yes
  2. ?