MIDI USB Control Change not working

Hello, I am new to MIDI and I am trying to make wireless MIDI switches. I know that this code works for notes just fine, as I tested it with a keyboard, but I want to use Control Changes. I've used the "controlChange(byte channel, byte control, byte value)" function from the documents, but it seems whatever values I put in here, my different software and devices can't recognize them.

The "rd" value is being read from another microcontroller, and is either 1 or 2 depending on which button is pressed.

#include "MIDIUSB.h"
#include <Wire.h>

#define SLAVE_ADDR 9

int rd;

// The setup function runs once when you press reset or power the board
void setup() {

Wire.begin(SLAVE_ADDR);
  Wire.onReceive(receiveEvent);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while (!Serial) {
    ;
  }
  Serial.println("Starting");
}

// The loop function runs over and over again forever
void loop() {
}

void noteOn(byte pitch) {
  MidiUSB.sendMIDI({0x09, 0x90, pitch, 127});
  MidiUSB.flush();
}

void noteOff(byte pitch) {
  MidiUSB.sendMIDI({0x08, 0x80, pitch, 0});
  MidiUSB.flush();
}

void receiveEvent(){

rd = Wire.read();
  Serial.println(rd);
  startMIDI(rd);

}

void startMIDI(int rd){
  byte value = rd + 20;
  Serial.println(value);
  controlChange(0x01,value, 0x7F);
  delay(2000);
  Serial.println("sound");
  /*
  noteOn(value);
  delay(2000);
  noteOff(value);
  */
}

void controlChange(byte channel, byte control, byte value) {

midiEventPacket_t event = {0x0B, 0xB0 | channel, control, value};

MidiUSB.sendMIDI(event);
  MidiUSB.flush();
}

Have you enabled CC reception in your host ?

What is this all about? And why does to comment above it say

When clearly it does nothing of the sort.

This is because although while you have a controlChange function you never call it so you never send anything. Which is why nothing is ever received.

What host ever requires this to be enabled? This does not make sense.

Hi, thanks for the response.