Misting System for Greenhouse using Solenoid Valve

I am trying to create the code for a misting system for my greenhouse. The misting system will operate using a humidity sensor which will turn the valve on or off depending on the humidity level. There is also a potential temperature sensor that could be used. I am very new at using Arduino so I am curious if anybody has done a similar project and if you have, how did you approach the code? Would you have any examples? If you have not done something like this, I would appreciate any guidance you could provide me with how I could start or what I could do (and anything to keep in mind)?

would appreciate any guidance you could provide me with how I could start or what I could do

When we anticipate mechanizing a manual process, we need a 1) machine and 2) peripherals and 3) code. In this case 1== Arduino and 2== ? And 3 must wait for all 2's to be identified.

To start somewhere, let's pick as product that can be controlled by an Arduino: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Orbit-3-8-in-160-psi-Booster-Pump-92100/202271382#.UqpgyYco7bU

The above could be used as a 1-zone master mister. When your sensor(s) indicate things are too dry, the program branches to a routine to take s digital output and change the output state (default state would be whatever is needed to keep an AC relay board "open" - that is inactive. The change in state will cause an optics slack upper to bias a FET to power a replay to close the AC contacts which will start the pump.

The pump "on" condition can be "timed" or can be dynamic based on real time sensor input. Timed is easiest. At the end of nn seconds, the output port is switched to disengage the relay. The mist is now off.

A mandatory delay (wait period) may be required for the humidity to stabilize. After this period, the sensor(s) are read and the process starts over.