Modifying new sketch basic syntax

Hello everyone,

I’ve been playing and enjoying Arduino for about a year now, I’m getting more confident with it and with coding (i’m quite new at this but love it !).

I’m using Arduino IDE 1.8.5, on Ubuntu 16.04.

So right to the point, I’m not very happy with the “basic syntax” when opening a new sketch on the IDE, let me explain myself.
I’d prefer having the braces broken down, rather than attached to the first line. I would also like to have a kind of clearer “skeleton” when opening a new sketch (e.g : adding standard comments such as “VARIABLES”, “SETUP”, “LOOP”, “FUNCTIONS” to identify every part of the program …, I’ve attached a screenshot of what I would like to do).
I’ve been googling a bit, I’ve found that I can modify certain options with the preferences.txt files, and I also came across “Artistic Style” formatting (Artistic Style), which I tried to implement in the “formatter.conf” file, but it didn’t work.

So, I’d like to know where or how I can modify the brace style option, and where I could insert a “code skeleton” so that it would appear everytime I open a New Sketch with the IDE ?

Thanks in advance for your reply,
Waykot.

Astyle is only used for Tools > Auto Format. formatter.conf is the right file to modify to change the behavior of Auto Format. You need to restart the Arduino IDE before changes you make there take effect. Also note that Arduino is using an older version of Astyle, 2.05.1 so not all the options you see in the documentation will work in the Arduino IDE. You can see which options were added since 2.05.1 in the Astyle release notes:
http://astyle.sourceforge.net/notes.html