morse code by counting analog pulses

Hello friends,

I am a arduino noob and i am writing a sketch to read the number of pulses in analog pin and interpret it in morse characters (dot or dash).

my objective is that if there is a single pulse it should be interpreted as dot and if there are 2 pulses (time interval of < 0.2s) it should be interpreted as dash. (unlike conventional morse code where pulse time is measured).

my sketch so far is as below. i am always getting dot and i realize i have some logical errors and not able to debug.

your help is greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance.

unsigned long pt = 0;
String morse = "";
String c_morse = "";
int vth = 1023;
int m = 0;
void setup()
{
  Serial.begin (38400);
}
void loop()
{
  delay(3000);
  float val = analogRead(A0);
  unsigned long ct = millis();
  if (val > vth)
  {
    Serial.println("1");
    if (c_morse == "")
    {
      pt = ct;
    }
    if (ct - pt < 200)
    {
      Serial.println("2");
      pt = ct;
      m++;
          delay(50);
    }
  }
  if (ct - pt > 1000)
  {
    Serial.println("3");
    if (m == 1)
    {
      morse = ".";
      Serial.println(morse);
    }
    if (m ==2)
    {
      morse = "-";
      Serial.println(morse);
    }
    c_morse += morse;
    Serial.println(c_morse);
    pt = ct;
    m = 0;
  }

}

More information needed. It appears like a digital counting problem where you would use one of the digital pins or use the analog pin as a digital input. No idea of what your signal looks like but if not a clean digital signal a comparator would clean it up, sometimes even a Schmidt trigger digital part will do.
Good Luck & Have Fun!
Gil

when is this

float val = analogRead(A0);
  if (val > vth)

condition ever going to be true ifint vth = 1023;and never changes ?
analogRead returns an int(unsigned), not a float btw.
Actually looking at it i don't even see how you could be getting anything..., m=0 and stays that if (val>vth) is never true.