Multiple LEDs, same flash rate but different patterns

Hello,

I am new to Arduino and wanted to teach myself some principles by building a little project to simulate the lights on marine Cardinal Marker buoys, here is a link to what it should look like:

As you can see it is just 4 flashing LED’s. Three of the lights follow a 15 second pattern while one, the EAST marker repeats every 10 seconds.

I have written a very basic code using DELAY to write to each LED. It is very inelegant and means that ALL the lights follow a 15 second pattern which is wrong.

I quickly realised I should not use delay and perhaps an array and millis function is the way to go.

I have tried to take chunks of other peoples examples to make this work but do not understand enough to get the LEDs to flash a certain number of times before repeating. I think perhaps I need the counter function.

I have used this to write a short code for each light in isolation and this works but I cant work out how to get them all to start together and flash in sync.

I would be grateful if someone could show me the correct code that I could pick apart to understand the logic. It is frustrating because I think this should be very basic and short!

Regards,

Harry

See Step 2: How to Write a Non-blocking Delay in Arduino

#define DELAY_1 7500
#define DELAY_2 5000
// ... etc

uint32_t timer1;
uint32_t timer2;
// ... etc

void setup() {
  timer1 = millis();
  timer2 = timer1;
  // ... etc
}

void loop() {
  uint32_t now = millis();
  if (now - timer1 >= DELAY_1)
  {
    //toggle led 1
    timer1 += DELAY_1;
  }
  if (now - timer2 >= DELAY_2)
  {
    //toggle led 2
    timer2 += DELAY_2;
  }
  // ... etc
}