Multiple relays.

Hi All,

First, apologies if this has been raised elsewhere, if so please point me in towards the right posts.

I'm very new to the Arduino, and have done the very basic sketches - blinking an LED,running the serial function and have got one of my UNOs reading the temperature and ambient light onto a two line LCD display.
What I can't get to work is using two inputs to operate two relays. That is one input 'tied' to one relay, the other input to the other relay. I can easily get one input for one relay, but I cannot work out how to get the Uno to switch the relays independently.
For example, one relay for outside lights at the front of the house, the other for the rear.
I'm an electrician so the mains side of things is easy, but the programming is another matter.

The only sketches I've seen are either single relays or multiple relays being switched sequentially.

Do I need to involve interrupts? Or do I need if....then....else code?

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Max.

Could you please post your code?

Just guessing that you're using delays and also need to control the relays at the instant something "changes" on an input and not "when" the input is HIGH or LOW.

Check these examples to see what I mean:

Hi Dlloyd,

Thanks for your prompt reply.

I'll find the code as requested, but it was a while ago - I gave up.

I've had a look at the examples you suggested and understand them, but the problem I have seems to me to be more fundamental- how to direct the program to 'if input X is on then go to the place in the code that turns output A on' and/or 'if input Y is on then goto the place in the code that turns output B on'. The important part here is the and/or, then go back up to the start of the loop and start again. I need to be able to switch the outputs in any order, not a fixed sequence.